Reciprocity!

Image

Reciprocity in social psychology refers to responding to a positive action with another positive action, rewarding kind actions. As a social construct, reciprocity means that in response to friendly actions, people are frequently much nicer and much more cooperative than predicted by the self-interest model.  I live by this!

I received a message from a friend yesterday that I have known for many years, but haven’t seen in the longest time.  We have kept in touch with one another via Facebook for quite some time, though.  Yesterday she wrote me this, “JOLENE!!!!!!! Take me out and share with me some of the world you live in!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I can’t take it anymore, I don’t know anybody else that does stuff like you do, so I must learn from you so I can teach others!!!!!!”  What a feeling it is to be inspiring others!  While reading this message I was having dinner with a friend at my house, whom I happened to meet just over a month ago on a hike.  He said, “That’s just one of the things that’s amazing about you… you pause for the beauty and it’s not a rush.”  A lot of people might say, “I don’t know what I did to deserve this greatness…”  But I do know, I am happy, fortunate, love others and life and what you put out to the world, the world sees and gives back to you.  Reciprocity!

I feel very fortunate about how much I see the world the way I do influences other people. I have started this blog to hopefully inspire more people that I have yet to meet!  Life is full of so much beauty.  People are amazing.  The Earth’s beauty makes my heart glow.  I am so thankful!

Fortunately Loving Life.  It amazes me that this site is mine.  That out of all of the people in the world, I am the first one to want this domain. My life is exactly where it’s supposed to be and I wouldn’t change a thing!  Now go out and enjoy your weekend and don’t forget to pause and enjoy something beautiful.  Thank you for reading and being a part of my journey!

6 thoughts on “Reciprocity!

  1. Amy Carlson

    I love this. Really love it. My favorite was the email you received from the “jumper” whose friend had passed away. You really never know what someone else is going through, and how much what you do can make an impact on their day. Thanks for blogging, Miss Jolene. I am quite glad you are.
    –Amy (or Amelia….whatever!)

    Reply
    1. Jolene McArthur Post author

      Thank you for reading, Amelia and for your words! Yes, it is pretty amazing how the slightest interaction with a stranger can impact one’s thoughts/day. Im so thankful that she wrote me what she did! I had a man greatly impact my life about 4 years ago and I need to hunt him down to tell him how it has forever changed me! More about that in my book!

      Reply
  2. Joyce Hekker

    You are an amazing woman miss jolene,,,,and i feel very blessed to have met you! Love ya kiddo!!!!

    Joyce

    Reply

Leave a comment